Kort Forklart

Yoga Nidra

What is it? Yoga Nidra is an extremely effective method of relaxing. Most of us live with chronic tensions that are the cause of all the agony we experience in modern life. Yogic philosophy, along with modern psychology, refers to three basic types of tensions. These are physical, emotional and mental tensions. Even in deep […]

Nasal Cleansing – Ayurvedic Practice

When it comes to nasal cleansing there are two practices: neti and nasya. Neti is a process where you use salt water to cleanse the nasal passages using a neti pot. With nasya you lubricate the nasal cavities with oil. You might be wondering why you should cleanse your nostrils, but if you think about […]

Dry Brushing – Ayurvedic Practice

Dry brushing is just what it sounds like- brushing your skin with a dry brush on dry skin. By doing this you scrape the dead skin cells off the top layer of your skin. This is done before you shower. The practice promotes detoxification and stimulates your lymphatic system. Did you know that your skin […]

Abhyanga – Ayurvedic Practice

Abhyanga has many benefits, including toning your muscles, enhancing detoxification, softening your skin, calming your nervous system, releasing fatigue, aiding your sleep, improving elimination, lubricates your joints, increases circulation and hydrates you from within. 

Why Some Yogis Wear White Clothes

Maybe you’ve noticed that some yogis wear a lot of white clothes, and there is a good reason why. Yoga is about raising your consciousness, which means you become more receptive and aware of things that you didn’t notice before. More and more of what- and how you do things become a conscious act, instead […]

Yama & Niyama

The first two limbs of the ‘8 Limbs of Yoga’ are Yama and Niyama. They are both five guidelines to how to live well. Once you learn them you’ll realise that in many ways you already practice Yoga. The Yamas and Niyamas are the first of the 8 limbs because it will be foundation of […]

Niyamas – Isvara Pranidhana

In the second book of the Yoga Sutras, sutra no. 45 it says: “By total surrender to God, Samadhi is attained” Isvarapranidhana is a lifelong dedication to sacrificing everything to God, or humanity. God does not sit in a place waiting for our sacrifices and gifts, but by dedicating our lives to human benefit, we […]

Niyamas – Svadhyaya

In the second book of the Yoga Sutras, sutra no. 44 it says: “By study of spiritual books comes communion with one’s chosen deity” Svadhyaya then means spiritual study and one refers to the study of what can be called holy scriptures. As yoga has come to the West by storm, much of the wisdom […]

Niyamas – Tapas

In the second book of the Yoga Sutras, sutra no. 43 it says: “By austerity, impurities of body and senses are destroyed and occult powers gained” The direct meaning of tapas is ‘to burn’. By the physical tapas of fasting, we burn away excess fat along with other toxins the body has accumulated. At mental […]

Niyamas – Santosha

Santosha is the second of the five Niyamas and it means contentment. To practice Santosha does not mean to be content with everything and for that reason not seeing a reason to do anything. The way I see it, it’s more about finding accept and not leaning your peace and happiness towards external factors. I […]

Niyamas – Saucha

Saucha is the first of five Niyamas in the 8 limbs of yoga. When we talk about the Niyamas we talk about practices regarding ourselves. The word Niyama is often translated as ‘positive duties’. In the second book of the Yoga Sutras, sutra no. 40 it says: “By purification arises disgust for ones own body […]

Yamas – Aparigraha

Aparigraha is the fifth and last of the five yamas in the 8 limbs of yoga. It means non-greed, non-possessiveness and/or non-attachment. The essence of this yama is to take only what we need, keep only what serves us in the moment, and let go when the time is right. In the Bhagavad Gita, Krishna […]

Yamas – Brahmacharya

Brahmacharya is the fourth yama in the 8 limbs of yoga. It means ‘right use of energy’, and often translated to celibacy. It actually translate to ‘behaviour that leads to brahman’ which in other words mean behaviour that leads to a higher power/the divine/god. The second book of the Yoga Sutras, sutra no. 38 states: […]

Yamas – Asteya

Asteya, the third yama in the 8 limbs of yoga. It means non-stealing. It sounds simple, but its because we usually think of stealing in the terms of materialism only. There are so many other things we can steal. Attention, credit, space, time, peace and so on. When we look at Asteya it relates to […]

Yamas – Satya

Satya is the second yama in the 8 Limbs of Yoga. It literally translates as ‘true essence’ or ‘unchangeable’. Even though our thoughts and emotions are interchangeable they form our own personal truths. As you may have experienced, what you once knew for certain, you later realised was not true. In Sanskrit, the vibrations of […]

Yamas – Ahimsa

Within the 8 limbs of yoga, the first limb is called Yamas which means ‘control’ and represent a series of ethical guidelines. There are five yamas, where the first is called Ahimsa. Ahimsa means non-violence or non-harm and should be applied to every living being, including oneself. It may be harming thoughts, behaviour or how […]


Our vulnerability can be a treasure chest To be vulnerable is to let down your guard and open yourself to life. It might bring about epic transformation, but this is a two-way sword. If you open yourself without the necessary strength and insight to deal with what might come, it might cause great trauma as […]


Willpower is the muscle of the mind In the 8 Limbs of Yoga, the sixth limb is Dharana, which means concentration. Concentration is a vital ability in your yogic practice. In fact, it’s a vital ability in anything you do in life. One of my many teachers- Dandapani, defines concentration like this “Concentration is the […]

Lyden AUM

Historie Lyden aum er en lyd vi ser igjen i forskjellige former i flere kulturer og religioner. I vedas finner vi Om, I Tibet finner vi lyden hum, hos musilimer finner vi lyden amin og amen hos jøder og kristne. I det gamle greske alfabetet hadde de omega som sin siste bokstav(Ω). På engelsk har […]

Betydningen av nummeret 108

Nummeret 108 Yoga handler essensielt om å samkjøre seg selv med universets geometri. Av den grunn er tallet 108 blitt betydningsfullt. Avstanden mellom jorden og solen er så stor at man får plass til solen 108 ganger. Avstanden mellom jorden og månen er så stor at man får plass til månen 108 ganger. Diameteren til […]


Concentration is the ability to keep your energy flowing in one direction for an extended period of time. Within the 8 Limbs of Yoga we find Dhyana as the sixth limb. Dhyana means concentration, and it’s an essential part of your yoga practice. Without it, you won’t get far. Concentration is a huge challenge for […]